05
Jun
08

SMELLIN GOOD IN THE KITCHEN

Now nobody in the world loves bread puddin more than I, but I want to breakaway from the puddin and share with you the easiest okra and tomatoes in the entire world!  Now for you to get the full benefit of the rich flavors you MUST use home grown produce and even if you don’t grow it in your garden, you will find it in all supermarkets this time of year.  Just don’t use frozen okra, and buy the tomatoes that you know are homegrown.    And I use an iron skillet in cooking everything but am sure it will work in any kind.

I melt a little butter or margerine and add about 1/2 cup chopped onion and when sauteed, I add as much whole uncooked okra as I think we will eat with some leftover (probably a pound or so) and chopped fresh tomatoes (1 large will probably be plenty).  I stir and turn the fire down low and add a little salt and pepper and cover and cook just until the okra is tender.  No need to add water or liquids as the tomatoes provide enough.  Try it, you’ll love it.  Southern cooking at it’s best.

BON APPETIT, Mollye

 

 

3 Responses to “SMELLIN GOOD IN THE KITCHEN”


  1. 1 Maridon Bradley
    June 16, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    I enjoyed my garden tour, thank you! Love, love, love, your collage! This is something I have wanted to get started, but have been afraid to try. (why be afraid of art? I don’t know. Probably because I will not do it “perfectly”!) Seeing your stuff just makes me want to start cutting and gluing! Very witty! (Came over from Deena’s garden tour, isn’t she the greatest?)

    Life is beautiful!
    Maridon

  2. June 20, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Beautiful garden, Mollye! Stop over and visit mine. Blessings to you!

  3. July 27, 2008 at 5:47 am

    I want tomatoes too!!
    yummy yummy best summertime food
    Love ya
    Deena


Leave a Reply

